extravagance from the farmers’ market

capreseFor my last night in Madison before I headed to Phoenix and New Mexico, we splurged a little at the Tuesday evening East-side farmers’ market.  Farmer John had some awesome fresh mozzerella; another stall had just-picked, fragrant basil, and we had some tomatoes that I assume are from a hot house, via the co-op.  We decided to make a caprese salad, with a wheat-berry and sesame bread from the local bakery.  This salad is one of my favorite summer treats, and was well worth the expense.  I’ll post pictures once I get back tomorels my camera cord at home.

But – the expense doesn’t stop there.  Someone at the farmers’ market had collected morels, so we pan-fried them in some butter with a bit of onions.

Wow.  This meal certainly doesn’t get the vegan tag.

I’m in the southwest until Wednesday, so expect few posts until then, and lots of green chile afterward.

This entry was posted in hors d'oeuvres, main dish, primarily vegetable/fruit, salad, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

