tofu salad

Now that it’s beginning to warm up here in the tundra, I’m somewhat leaning towards easy foods that require no cooking. I just want to play outside instead of cooking!

I love this tofu salad from the Low Fat Moosewood cookbook. It’s great to keep around for eating on a sandwich, in a tortilla, wrapped in a large leafy green, or just as it is. It tastes even better after it sits in the fridge for a day or more.

tofu saladThis recipe serves four, according to the recipe. I would say more, but I’m unsure, since I usually end up snacking on the leftovers bit by bit.

Dressing:
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsp grated fresh ginger
1/2 tsp chili paste, sriracha, or something else hot, or to taste
2 tb soy sauce
1 tb rice vinegar
1 tsp dark sesame oil

Salad:
1 package firm tofu
1/2 of a red bell pepper, or a carrot, or a mixture of the two, finely chopped
1/3 cup chopped scallions
1 tb chopped parsley – but I think cilantro would go really well here too

1. Whisk together the dressing ingredients and set aside.

2. Crumble the tofu with your hands into a separate bowl. Add the veggies and parsley/cilantro, pour on the dressing, and mix well. Season with more of the dressing ingredients to taste if needed. I usually like it a little hotter (as will you, Jason, I’m sure) and more acidic, so I add more sriracha and rice vinegar.

This entry was posted in salad, sandwich, sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

